Hospital Organisation

St Patrick’s Hospital - now St Patrick’s Mental Health Services (SPMHS) - was founded in 1746, and remains driven by the innovative vision of our founder.

Committed to our purpose

Committed to our purpose

We have been governed by Royal Charter since our foundation.

This charter has been amended four times in 1888, 1895, 1897 and 2014. The charter outlines the governance of SPMHS through a Board of Governors consisting of both ex officio members, who automatically join through their role in SPMHS, and appointed members.

Our Board of Governors strives to maintain the highest standards of corporate governance, and is committed to the Charities Governance Code: Principles of Good Governance. Ensuring that our governance arrangements reflect the present and future needs of our evolving organisation occupies considerable Board and management time and attention.

The governors provide their time on a voluntary basis, and have overall responsibility for internal control procedures and for reviewing the effectiveness of these procedures. They invest the running of SPMHS in a senior management team. Together with this management team, our governors spend significant time on improving internal controls, assessing risks that may impact SPMHS, and eliminating such risks where possible, thereby ensuring our continued financial wellbeing and reputation.

We are keenly aware of and committed to our not-for-profit status and philanthropic purpose, as intended by our founder, Jonathan Swift, and laid out in our charter.

We are a human rights-driven organisation, committed to evidence-based service development and treatment, the active participation of service users, and the value of diversity.

We are guided by the principles of our founder and by the values of the Mental Health Act 2001, the European Charter of Human Rights and the United Nations Principles for the Protection of Persons with Mental Illness and the Improvement of Mental Health Care.

Board of Governors

Board of Governors

Mr Danny Kitchen, Chairman

The Most Reverend Dr Richard Clarke

Mrs Audrey Cunningham

The Very Reverend Dermot Dunne

Mrs Caroline Gill

Tom Godfrey

Mrs Bernadette Godley

Dr John Hillery

The Most Reverend Dr Michael Jackson

Mr Michael Moriarty

Professor Joyce O'Connor

Mrs Caroline Preston

Mr Geoff Scully

The Very Reverend William Wright Morton


Continue to…

Multidisciplinary Teams


For general queries, please call us. For more on mental health and our services, see our frequently asked questions (FAQs).

01 249 3200 See our FAQs


Contact Referral and Assessment Service for queries regarding referrals to our services.

01 249 3635 See more from our referrals team